Skip to content

Photographer Focus: Ya-Hui Lin

January 12, 2010

This is the first in what will be a regular feature on Front Element Photography. We are calling the Photographer Focus. This gives us a chance to highlight an Amateur photographer who is is making great photos. Our first brave photographer is:

Ya-Hui Lin

Ya-Hui Lin is a amateur photographer based in Taiwan. As you will see from her photographs she enjoys various types of photography including: landscape, portraiture, street photography, journalistic, and wedding photography. Ya-Hui’s interests vary more than her preferred photography styles! A few of her interests include: travel, mountain climbing, and painting. Ya-Hui took a break from her busy schedule to answer a few questions.

FE: When you see a cool photo or a particular style of photography what resources do you use to learn more?

Ya-Hui: I approach learning in several ways. I look at lots of photos on flickr but I also like to go to art-dept.com. I also have several books that I like to use two of which are The National Geographic Field Guide and The Photographers Eye by Micheal Freeman. Lastly, when I can I like to check out Russell Brown’s conferences on photo editing.

In India

FE: What gear are you using now?

Ya-Hui: That is an interesting question. On the digital side I am using a Canon 5D. Lens wise  I like my sigma 12-24 because it lets me get great landscapes. My 50mm 1.8 is great in low light. I am also carrying a:

  • Canon 100mm f2.8
  • Canon 17-40mm
  • Canon 18-55mm (kit)
  • Sigma 70-300mm

On the compact side I carry a Fuji WP Z33. When I feel like going old school I pull out my Minolta TC-1 and shoot some film.

FE: What is your favorite piece of gear?

Ya-Hui: I love it all. You know each thing has it’s own use. Now, I am planning on getting the Canon 70-200mm F4.

Sun moon lake 日月潭

FE: Why draws you to photography? Why do you enjoy it?

Ya-Hui: I simply love photography. I am not a professional, I just want to take my ideas and create images from them. I also want to capture moments in my life and preserve them as memories. The most important thing is that I can take pictures for the people I love. Unfortunately, I have a bad memory and Alzheimer’s Disease is common in my family. I know it might be a little crazy and I might not have the same disease, but if, (the probability is low), one day I don’t remember anything, my pictures might help me remember.

Find the way out 出口

FE: Do you have a favorite subject? A favorite place to go and take pictures.

Ya-Hui: I usually follow my instincts. If the mood is right I take photos. I don’t have favorite subject or place to make photos.

大屯山夜曝 | Datun Mountain Night Air

FE: If money were no issue where would you go to shoot?

Ya-Hui: If money were no object I would like to stay in Amazon for three weeks. I would shoot the life style there and portraits of the people. There are also some unique animals and plants I want to get some pictures of; just thinking about it gets me excited.

A Wedding

If you want to see more of Ya-Hui’s work you can visit her on Flickr.com. You can aslo contact her through mail on flickr.

Danshuei Fisherman's Wharf 淡水漁人碼頭

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

